IPA Home Page

The Illinois Pilots Association

Support General Aviation in Illinois

[Home] * [USPA] * [Annual Meeting] * [Scholarship] * [Calendar] * [IPA Info] * [Links] * [Learn to Fly] * [Photo Gallery] * [Chapters]

IPA Memorial Scholarship

The Illinois Pilots Association is offering a scholarship to a college student majoring in an aviation-oriented curriculum.  To be eligible the student must be:

  • a resident of the State of Illinois
  • majoring in an aviation-oriented curriculum
  • a full-time student at an Illinois college or university

The scholarship is for one year.  For 2018, the amount is $2000. (two thousand dollars).  The recipient may re-apply for the following year.  The award is used to defray tuition costs to a full-time student at the Illinois school of the applicant's choice, and it will be sent directly to the college.

The applicant must submit the following items, which must be received no later than April 30, 2018.  An official transcript will be required from the recipient.

  • a completed application form (or equivalent information)
  • evidence of strong academic performance, including an unofficial transcript of grades
  • three recommendations, at least one academic

Notification will be sent to all of those with complete applications as soon as possible after the results are known.  The person receiving the scholarship will be asked to submit a recent picture and agree to website publication of his/her name and likeness on www.illinoispilots.com before the check will be sent to the school.

Application Information

Current Recipient

Past Recipients

Please submit an application for consideration between February 1 and April 30, 2018, for the 2018-2019 scholarship.

IPA members have been aiding promising young students of aviation through the IPA Memorial Scholarship since 1983.  The chairman of the IPA Memorial Scholarship Committee is Carol Borecky.

The application deadline for the next scholarship is April 30, 2018.

"Application forms are sent to Illinois schools as well as agencies and individuals who request them, receive the completed application forms and grade them on several criteria such as GPA, completeness of application, goal, etc.  The top two to five applicants are then reviewed by IPA board members for a final consensus on the recipient.  Some years when there has been enough money and more than one exceptional candidate, two scholarships have been given in one year.   Notification letters are sent to all of the applicants (that is the hard part because often there are several really good applications), the recipient is invited to the IPA meetings and given a complimentary membership in the IPA for one year."

Click on these documents for a complete set of application materials.

IPA Memorial Scholarship 2018 Basic Information Sheet (Adobe Acrobat Reader pdf format)

IPA Memorial Scholarship 2018 Full Set of Application Forms pdf format(download, print, hand-write, and mail; includes three copies of the Recommendation Form below)

IPA Memorial Scholarship 2018 Recommendation Form, single copy only
pdf format (download, print, mail or deliver a copy to each of the three people who agree to recommend you, and print and mail their signed copies to the IPA Scholarship Chairperson; three copies are needed per application, and three copies are included in the Full Set above)

It is customary and courteous for the applicant to provide postage and envelopes for recommendation forms, or at least offer to do so.

If you don't have the Adobe Acrobat Reader, you can download it for free.

Get Acrobat

IPA Memorial Scholarship 2017 Recipient

Ryan Jarrett Linton

2017 Picture of Ryan Jarret Linton.jpg

Ryan Jarret Linton of DeSoto, Illinois was selected as the recipient of the 2017 Illinois Pilots Association Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $2,000.   Ryan is a 21 year old Aviation Management/Flight major at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Illinois.

Ryan has been passionate with flight since a toddler.  His parents tell stories of him stretching his neck to see a dot at the end of white line in the sky while strapped in his car seat.  Ryan gained his first flight certificate at the age of eleven years old while attending a local 4-H aviation camp and has sought every opportunity since to fly.  Ryan was able to attain his private pilot's license and associates degree while working full time hours as a chemist intern.  This enabled him to enter the flight program at SIU as a junior and ready for commercial training.  His is very focused on his goal of becoming a cargo pilot.  He attributes his motivation to the unique chance to meet flight mentors down the difficult road of acquiring flight hours and training on his own.  A path that allowed pilots to share their passion and unique experiences, "As I listen to their stories, their struggles, their experiences, both funny and horrific happenstances, I became a better pilot and have a small gist of what I may one day be able to offer."  Giving up is not in his vocabulary.  Every day he is able to fly, he sees the blessing of one day having a job he could never really call work.

Congratulations and best wishes to Ryan Jarret Linton from the Illinois Pilots Association.

IPA Memorial Scholarship Recipients

2017 Ryan J. Linton DeSoto
2016 Triston Samuel Dillard Mt. Carmel
2015 Sean Christopher Kozak Batavia
2014 Alex Michael Kwiatkowski Wheaton
2013 Ryan Wesley Yochum Dixon
2012 Steven James Kowalski Darien
2011 David Klemmer Carpentersville
2010 Samantha Dannielle McCue Bartlett
2009 David Klemmer Carpentersville
2008 Elizabeth Ann Tosaw Sugar Grove
2007 Elizabeth Ann Tosaw Sugar Grove
2006 Brendan Brannick Freeport
2005 (no award)
2004 (no award)
2003 Rebecca Ann Kizior* Naperville
2003 Heather Marie Monaghan* West Dundee
2002 Rebecca Ann Kizior Naperville
2001 Heather Marie Monaghan West Dundee
2000 Terrence Charles Widrlechner Westmont
1999 Paxton James Corwin* Champaign
1999 Arnold Thomas Banks* Springfield
1998 Timothy W. Braun Oak Lawn
1997 Michael David Anderson Cherry Valley
1996 Benjamin John Keen Aurora
1995 Shellie L. Russell Romeoville
1994 Bonnie Lynn Kelly (deceased 5/25/98) Morris
1993 Duane S. Giorgetti Rockport
1992 Deborah Marie Koch Bethalto
1991 Thomas Patrick Jackson Elk Grove Village
1990 Matthew DiMarco Oakbrook
1989 Ann Zrinsky Westchester
1988 Cindy K. Sims* North Henderson
1988 Chris Kirin* Chicago
1987 (unknown) ?
1986 (unknown) ?
1985 Bradley Dale Fester Alton
1984 Robert William Boreham ?
1983 Scott Earl Oliver Springfield

* denotes co-winners of the scholarship for years in which there were sufficient funds to award two scholarships.